Photo of the Day: For the Love of Books


I am halfway through a young adult dystopian science fiction trilogy. I won’t be able to form a real opinion of it until I get to the end, but for now, I am engrossed.

So I am feeling thankful for books, and libraries, and book festivals. In the decade-or-so that I’ve spent most of my time in DC or its immediate periphery, I have watched sadly as the bookstores where I used to hang out, buy gifts, and attend author talks (and I mean practically all of these bookstores) have been replaced by clothing stores. Places that used to entertain me for an hour and a half at a time now can hold my attention for ten minutes if I have time to fill.

At the same time, I have watched dozens of Little Free Libraries pop up, so there’s that. And I have seen public libraries be renovated, or in the case of DC’s main library, the talks about future renovations have been going on for years. I look forward to seeing the improvements come to fruition.

I have attended the National Book Festival ten years in a row. So for today’s Photo of the Day, below is a photo of book lovers from this year’s event:

127

Now to get back to reading…

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

