Photo of the Day: Italian Ancestry


This month’s theme at my Sunday Morning Activity is Ancestry, which reminds me of the ancestral pilgrimage of sorts I made this past summer. One of the towns my father and I visited in Italy was Fallo, a tiny town in the mountains where my grandfather lived until his teenage years, when his parents brought the family to the United States.

We were in town for the annual Festa: a celebration with special masses, parades, medieval-themed activities, and musical performances. The residents and visitors parade a replica of the patron saint, San Vicenzo, through the town, and he is covered with jewelry and watches gifted by people in thanks for their good fortunes.

Festa parade, Fallo, Italy

Festa parade, Fallo, Italy

Most of the lights are Festa decorations in Fallo. The set of yellow lights under the top flower display is Civitaluparella, a nearby town on the top of a mountain. One afternoon my father ran up and down that mountain while I napped.

Most of the lights are Festa decorations in Fallo. The set of yellow lights under the top flower display is Civitaluparella, a nearby town on the top of a mountain. One afternoon my father ran up and down that mountain while I napped.

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Museums and Holidays, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Photo of the Day: Italian Ancestry

  1. arlingwoman says:

    What a great story! Is there anyone that remembers your family or any connections? I love the picture of the lights.

Leave a Reply

