Photo of the Day: Palazzo Doria Pamphilj


Why Photos of the Day?

I am having awful Writer’s Block, despite having no excuse to have this affliction. This past summer, I was fortunate enough to go on family trips to Rhode Island and Italy, visiting many museums on each trip. I have also spent time in recent months visiting DC area sites, attending the National Book Festival, and getting involved in the #museumworkersspeak/#museumsrespondtoferguson group. Though I have ideas and thoughts, I can’t seem to transform them into a polished post.

The purpose of spending the remaining two months of the year posting Photos of the Day is to post something (whether just a photo or musings based on a photo) at this URL so that WordPress doesn’t shut down my blog for lack of activity or any calamity like that. As the holidays approach, the photos will get accordingly festive, because I am holiday-obsessed.

Here is my favorite photo I took in Italy, at the Palazzo Doria Pamphilj in Rome:

Palazzo Doria Pamphilj

Palazzo Doria Pamphilj

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Museum Visits (Other), Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Photo of the Day: Palazzo Doria Pamphilj

  1. arlingwoman says:

    Nice. Surprised they let you take pic’s. Sometimes I think it depends who’s on duty that day!

    • Laura says:

      In Italy, the rules about photography at indoor destinations were almost always, “Yes, but no flash.” One major exception was the Sistine Chapel. I did try to ask permission first at the museums we visited.

  2. blackmutts says:

    I like the idea… I was less focused than you were when I started my blog, but I found that WordPress has a really great photography community. And it’s really great because I take more pictures than anyone in my personal life really want to look at, so it’s been great to share them somewhere. And I suspect you might have this in common with me:-)

Leave a Reply

