Wolf to Woof at the Museum of Idaho


Happy 32nd wedding anniversary to my parents!

In August 2010, my parents visited the Wolf to Woof: The Story of Dogs exhibit at the Museum of Idaho. I asked them to write a guest blog post about the exhibit, and they balked at this overwhelming request, but they did agree to let me interview them.

My mother described a “well-displayed,” “excellent exhibit” with “interesting charts.” She remembers an exhibition that discussed topics such as the evolution from wolves to dogs, canine species around the world (including some that are endangered), and modern dog breeds. “There was a nice part of it that dealt with service dogs who help people with disabilities,” she recalled.

My father called the exhibit “a really good, both scientific and historic, look at dogs and their relationship with people.” Wolf to Woof “had something for everyone.”

In describing physical elements of the exhibit, my father had a more vivid memory: it was “colorful” and “roomy,” “yellow and green” with a “circular thing.” It took up two floors, and there was “a little film about dogs.” My mother recollected “phones where you could hear dogs barking.”

The exhibit, according to my parents, did not really change how my parents see our dog, Duncan. My mother had read a book about how dogs evolved from wolves, and she stated that Wolf to Woof reinforced what she had already learned from the book. My father simply said, “He’s still my Chunk.”

When asked what it means to be a dog, my mother responded: “To be very loyal and to really like being part of a group, part of a pack, knowing your role. [Dogs] get a sense of security and comfort from knowing their role in the pack and how they fit in. And to enjoy having jobs to do.”

My father put it more succinctly: “to be man’s best friend.”

*

September’s blog theme is Museums Gone to the Dogs.

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wolf to Woof at the Museum of Idaho

  1. Carol says:

    Thanks for the anniversary shout-out. I enjoyed the blog even though I sound a little goofy.

Leave a Reply

