July Underway


Happy July!

Like many others in my region, I entered the month of July with no electricity. A derecho took lives, in addition to knocking down trees and power lines. This huge beech at the United States Capitol fell:

A fallen tree at the Capitol, with Supreme Court in the background

A fallen tree at the Capitol, with Supreme Court in the background

Luckily, I could crash at my parents’ house, which is close enough to visit easily, but far enough away that it is not subjected to the same power outages as my apartment. On the first day of July, my father took my mother and me to the local Wegmans with the same zeal I might have for visiting a museum. My dad had already visited the grocery store, become a member, and taken home a copy of all the brochures. Now, he wanted to share this amazing place with his family.

By spending July 4 working at the Capitol, I had a patriotic Independence Day. Later in the week, I volunteered at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, helping to set up and monitor the AIDS Memorial Quilt as well as read some of the names.

AIDS Memorial Quilt at Smithsonian Folklife Festival

AIDS Memorial Quilt at Smithsonian Folklife Festival

I also worked a shift at Lloyd House in Alexandria, so it has been a very museum-ful July so far. And luckily, my power has returned.

July’s blog theme is Studying Museums. On a related but completely coincidental note, the Emerging Museum Professionals blog is currently putting together a series on graduate programs in the museum field; read more here.

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Capitol Visitor Center, Museums and Holidays, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

