Laura’s Family Visits the Newseum


Emma, Carol, and Jim DiSciullo at the Newseum. Photo by Rick Austin

My sister and parents at the Newseum. Photo by Rick Austin

During the week between Christmas and New Year’s, my parents, sister, and uncle came to the Newseum. (I was working that day and I had the pleasure of checking their coats.) They spent several hours at the Newseum and, as I had predicted, my mother wanted to read every single thing.

The Newseum has ten core messages it wishes to impart to visitors. I was curious what my family got out of their visit, and I asked my parents to finish sentences based on the core messages. (Regarding some of my father’s answers: this is where I get my quirkiness…)

Newseum Core Messages My Mother’s Response My Father’s Response
The free press is a cornerstone of democracy. The free press is a cornerstone of the Bill of Rights. The free press is a cornerstone of the Berlin Wall.
People have a need to know. People have a need to know and understand what is happening in the world. People have a need to Party.
Journalists have a right to tell. Journalists have a right to get the information. Journalists have a right to Write.
Finding the facts can be difficult. Finding the facts can be dangerous. Finding the facts can be Scary.
Reporting the story can be dangerous. Reporting the story can be dangerous. Reporting the story can be Dangerous.
Freedom includes the right to be outrageous. Freedom includes the right to freedom of the press. Freedom includes the right to wear Ties.
Responsibility includes the duty to be fair. Responsibility includes the duty to report the news accurately and in an unbiased way. Responsibility includes the duty to Text.
News is history in the making. News is factual information about what is happening in the world. News is What News Does.
Journalists provide the first rough draft of history. Journalists provide hopefully, unbiased and factual information. Journalists provide Coffee at the press fair.
A free press, at its best, reveals the truth. A free press, at its best, makes the world better by increasing our understanding of the world around us. A free press, at its best, inexpensive.

 

 

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Newseum and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Laura’s Family Visits the Newseum

  1. emwilcox says:

    This is great. Like your own mini visitor study.

  2. This is great- like your own mini visitor study.

  3. Carol says:

    Your father is definitely quirky. But in a good way.

Leave a Reply

