Happy New Year!


I wanted to do a second post looking back on 2011, and in doing so, wish my readers a Happy 2012. Since my 12/26/11 “Happy Holidays” post, I have found a few more pages I’d like to share, as well as completed my museum visits of 2011.

Colleen Dilenschneider put together a compilation of how museums creatively used social media in December 2011 to wish their audiences happy holidays and look back on the previous year. See the list in her blog, Know Your Own Bone.

Flavorwire made a list of the ten most controversial art shows of 2011. It’s interesting to note the different reasons something can be controversial.

Blogger Jenni Fuchs, currently living in Berlin, tried to visit 52 museums in 52 weeks in 2011 and surpassed her goal. Her list is rather more impressive than mine, given that she visited one museum over 50 times! The only museum I visited 50+ times in 2011 was one where I worked.

My list of museums I visited in 2011 follows. An asterisk* refers to a museum where or for which I did paid work at some point during the year. Because I can’t afford to go anywhere, all the museums are in DC, Maryland, or Virginia.

  1. African American Civil War Memorial and Museum, DC

    Georgetown Waterfront Park

    Georgetown Waterfront Park (taken in 2009)

  2. American Red Cross Headquarters, DC
  3. Anderson House, DC
  4. Arlington National Cemetery, VA
  5. Baltimore Museum of Art, MD
  6. Capitol Visitor Center and United States Capitol, DC*
  7. Carlyle House, VA
  8. Christ Church, VA
  9. College Park Aviation Museum, MD

    National Postal Museum

    National Postal Museum. Me and Owney in 2010. Photograph by Kiah Berkeley

  10. Dumbarton Oaks, DC
  11. Ford’s Theatre, DC
  12. Friendship Firehouse Museum, VA
  13. General Federation of Women’s Clubs Headquarters, DC
  14. Georgetown Waterfront Park, DC
  15. German American Heritage Museum, DC
  16. Goddard Visitor Center, MD
  17. Heurich House Museum, DC
  18. Homewood Museum, MD
  19. Howard University Museum, DC
  20. Koshland Science Museum, DC
  21. Laogai Museum, DC
  22. Lyceum, VA
  23. National Air and Space Museum, DC
  24. National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial and Visitors Center, DC
  25. National Museum of American Jewish Military History, DC
  26. National Museum of Natural History, DC
  27. National Museum of the United States Navy, DC
  28. National Museum of Women in the Arts, DC

    National Portrait Gallery

    National Portrait Gallery (photo taken in 2010)

  29. National Portrait Gallery, DC
  30. National Postal Museum, DC*
  31. National Zoo, DC*
  32. Newseum, DC*
  33. Phillips Collection, DC
  34. Pope John Paul II Cultural Center, DC
  35. Sewall-Belmont House, DC
  36. Sixth and I Historic Synagogue, DC
  37. Small Jewish Museum, DC
  38. Textile Museum, DC
  39. Torpedo Factory, VA
  40. Tudor Place, DC
  41. United States National Arboretum, DC
  42. United States Navy Memorial and Naval Heritage Center, DC
  43. Washington National Cathedral, DC
  44. Wilson House, DC

Did anyone else keep a list of museums visited in 2011?

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Articles and Books, Capitol Visitor Center, Lists of Museums, Museum Visits (Other), Museums and Holidays, National Postal Museum, National Zoological Park, Newseum, Photos, Weekly Museum Visits Part I, Weekly Museum Visits Part II and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. not a list, but i’m definitely a hoarder of souvenirs from museums.

    also, when i went on vacation, most of my pictures are from museum interiors. natural history in london and natural history in vienna made me want to cry from happiness and jealousy…

    • disciullo says:

      What kind of souvenirs? I have always had pack rat tendencies, and I had finally gotten to the point where I could recycle museum brochures, or not take them in the first place. Then I started MEP and our professors told us to always take museum brochures, self-guides, etc. and to keep them forever and ever and ever. And I always take pictures (as you know). I almost never buy stuff from gift shops for myself, though.

      We have some pretty interiors here too! Not that I’ve been to Europe recently to compare.

  2. Carol says:

    Happy New Year. This was an impressive list.

Leave a Reply

