Happy Holidays!


Whatever holiday(s) you celebrate, I hope you are finding them happy and full of meaning!

Newseum ornament

An ornament from the Newseum store hangs on my family's tree

This year, I celebrated Saint Nicholas Day and Christmas with my family, and I will celebrate New Year’s with friends. Yesterday, my family opened gifts from the Newseum store – part of the excitement of a new job is doing my holiday shopping at the museum store. And part of the excitement of a new year is looking back at the previous 365 days.

In 2011, I worked at the National Zoo, the Capitol Visitor Center, and the Newseum, in addition to doing contract work at home for the National Postal Museum. My uniform colors included beige, red, white, black, and green, and for six months, I answered to “634.” I visited more than 40 museums/other informal learning environments in 2011, and I began this blog early in the year.

It was an exciting year for my Museum Education Program classmates as well. My colleagues began working at Adler Planetarium, American Museum of Natural History, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Morven Park, Museum of Flight, National Museum of African Art, and Pacific Science Center, along with the United States Senate, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and a public charter school. Congratulations to all of you! And in 2011, two of my classmates got married (not to each other).

DC welcomed the Laogai Museum and Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial in 2011, while the National Museum of Health and Medicine and the National Pinball Museum moved from DC to Maryland. The Washington Monument and Washington National Cathedral suffered damage from the August earthquake. At the National Portrait Gallery and the Smithsonian as a whole, controversy over a video removed from the Hide/Seek exhibit was still fresh, and later in the year, the National Air and Space Museum was shut down due to the actions of protesters (the protester in charge of charging in turned out to actually be an opponent of the protest). Many museums and historic sites were visited in 2011 by Sarah Palin and her family.

Do you have a favorite museum memory from 2011, or a museum-related resolution for 2012?

 

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Museums and Holidays, Newseum and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

