End of Weekly Museum Visits


Today ends (this round of) Weekly Museum Visits.  From July 2010 through March 2011, between finishing graduate school and beginning a full-time job, I have visited at least one new-to-me museum every week.

This adventure has taken me to museums and museum-like sites in DC, Maryland, Virginia, and California.  In 31 weeks, I visited 40 institutions.  Whether all 40 of these count as museums is debatable, but the number 40 sounds nice, doesn’t it? You can see all the places I visited here.

Three days from now, I’ll begin my job as a Visitor Services Assistant at the Capitol Visitor Center.  This position will last through August or September, and if there is a gap between this job ending and a new full-time job beginning, it will be an opportunity to resume Weekly Museum Visits!  (But hopefully not for too long!)

I first toured the CVC while it was still being built, back in 2008 when I worked in the Flag Office at the Architect of the Capitol. (My cubicle was in the Capitol itself.) Here’s a picture I took of a CVC exhibit being constructed:

CVC, still in progress in 2008

While I will no longer have time to visit a new museum every week, I will continue to visit museums when I can (because I love them), and I’ll blog about my museum visits, my museum-related readings, and my museum work.  My goal will be to post something once or twice a week.

Thank you to everyone who’s been following my museum adventures!

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Capitol Visitor Center and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of Weekly Museum Visits

  1. Sharleen says:

    I’m so excited to hear you’ll be working at the Capitol! Best of luck, and keep us all posted on your adventures =)

Leave a Reply

