Elissa’s List


Meet my friend and classmate Elissa Frankle and her blog, which has a similar premise to mine.  Her goal is to visit every museum in DC and blog about each visit.

Elissa (left) and me. Photo by a friend or family member

Elissa has a list of museums that I believe she got from Wikipedia, but I will update when I confirm that for sure she and her boyfriend came up with, then checked against Wikipedia, back on January 1, 2010.

In her blog, Elissa writes, “I miss not being the only one in a room whose eyes sparkle when talking about a new exhibit or a previously undiscovered piece of an old favorite, who talks too fast and with her hands because the excitement is just that hard to contain.”  Well, in my excitement, I posted too fast; I quickly posted a comment comparing my list to hers, only to soon realize I’d made some errors in my excitement.

Below is the correct breakdown of Elissa’s list of museums, according to my own experiences: whether I had already visited before starting the Weekly Museum Visits (WMV) goal, visited as a WMV, or have yet to visit.

Visited Before WMV Visited For WMV Never Visited
American Art Museum Art Museum of the Americas Brewmaster’s Castle
Anacostia Community Museum Charles Sumner School Bureau of Printing and Engraving
Capitol Visitor Center Folger Shakespeare Library Decatur House
Corcoran Gallery of Art Ford’s Theatre Dumbarton Oaks
DAR Museum Frederick Douglass House Kreeger Museum
Dumbarton House Hillwood Museum and Gardens Lincoln Cottage
Freer Gallery of Art and Sackler Gallery International Spy Museum National Museum of American Jewish Military History
Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Koshland Museum Navy Museum
Library of Congress National Museum of Health and Medicine Old Stone House
National Air and Space Museum National Museum of Women in the Arts Pope John Paul II Cultural Center
National Aquarium Phillips Collection Scottish Rite Temple
National Archives Small Jewish Museum Sewall-Belmont House
National Building Museum Textile Museum Tudor Place
National Gallery of Art Woodrow Wilson House
National Geographic Museum
National Museum of African Art
National Museum of American History
National Museum of Crime and Punishment
National Museum of the American Indian
National Portrait Gallery
National Postal Museum
National Zoo
Newseum
Renwick Gallery, American Art Museum
S. Dillon Ripley Center
Smithsonian Castle
U.S. Botanic Garden
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Not every DC museum I’ve visited is included in this list, in part because of my broad criteria that include historic sites, national parks, and art spaces, so long as they serve the same functions of object-based, informal learning.  Also, the list Elissa found may simply created had not be been updated to include DC’s newest museums.

WMV Museums in DC Not Listed Above:

My Weekly Museum Visits are not limited to DC.  Some have been nearby in Maryland and Virginia.  During the week my family traveled to California, I visited museums and parks there as well.

Below are the non-DC museums I’ve visited for WMV:

California Maryland Virginia
Joshua Tree Beall-Dawson House Arlington National Cemetery and Arlington House
Los Angeles County Arboretum Brookside Gardens Artisphere
Los Angeles Zoo Cylburn Arboretum Gadsby’s Tavern Museum
Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa Meditation Museum
Natural History Museum of Los Angeles National Electronics Museum
Watts Towers Arts Center

As Elissa and I continue with our respective goals, we’ll likely have some overlap in which museums we visit, and we will try to do some blogging together as well.

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Lists of Museums and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Elissa’s List

  1. Catherine Kruchten says:

    so, when are you coming out to greenbelt to visit the goddard visitor center? 🙂

    • disciullo says:

      Hmmm, when are you going to offer me a VIP tour? :-p Just kidding. Is there a bus I can take from the Greenbelt Metro?

      • Catherine Kruchten says:

        so I finally went back through this to find the comment…you are welcome any time 🙂 There is indeed a bus from Greenbelt metro, but I don’t know details about it. Honestly, car is really the best way to get out here. Congrats on the CVC!

  2. museums365 says:

    Hi Laura’s readers!

    Mostly the list was my boyfriend and I sitting at his kitchen table on January 1, 2010, with my laptop open, drawing up a list of all them museums we could think of, THEN checking it against Wikipedia. GAHM opened in the meantime, and my thoughts on Sixth and I as a museum changed after I started working for the JHSGW–which wasn’t until seven months later.

Leave a Reply

