Welcome


Here is why this blog exists:

I recently went back to the site of my museum education internship, on the one-year-anniversary of having started the internship.  Immediately, I was asked to sign a birthday card for a member of the education staff, and to give my thoughts on plans for volunteer training.  I remembered one of the things I loved about being here: I always felt useful.

While catching up with my former supervisor, she mentioned that as I search for jobs, or if I end up with a job not in the museum field, I should stay involved in the museum world by volunteering regularly.  I mentioned that I still have my weekend Zoo job, which she said serves the same purpose.  Then I told her of another way I’m staying involved in the museum world: every week since earning my MAT in Museum Education last July, until I begin a permanent full-time job, I’m visiting one museum I haven’t been to before.

She suggested that, in addition to taking pictures (which I have done at every museum visit, even if the only picture allowed is one of the outside of the building), I should write reflections on each one.

Whether or not anyone else reads this blog, it will help me preserve my thoughts on these weekly museum visits, as well as my other museum-related adventures and reading.

To start things off, here is a picture from a (not new at all) museum visit in 2011:

Cheetas at the National Zoo

Draco, Granger, and Zabini

These three cheetah brothers at the National Zoo are named after Harry Potter characters (I am not sure which is which).

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in National Postal Museum, National Zoological Park, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Welcome

  1. Roey says:

    Hey there! Nice blog, I look forward to reading your updates!

  2. Diana says:

    Congrats on starting your blog! Let me know if you want to check out any museums/exhibits in the Columbia area 🙂

    • disciullo says:

      Thanks! I really should visit the museum (African Art Museum of Maryland) in my own hometown, shouldn’t I? Now it seems I’m rarely in Columbia, though. I’m here on weekends working and on weekdays ready in case a temp agency calls. I’ll be visiting my family the night of Monday 1/31 but then probably heading back to DC the next morning…

      I’ll keep you posted though… I’m definitely interested, as long as all the logistics can work out. 🙂

      • Diana says:

        Just saw your reply 🙂 (I didn’t get a notification about it.) The African Art Museum of Maryland is near the Columbia Mall, isn’t it? That sounds really interesting; we should check it out the next time you’re in town and available!

      • disciullo says:

        The tech aspects of blogging are still pretty murky to me. Did you give your email address and ask for a notification? I’m still figuring out how it all works.

        Yes, it’s near the Columbia Mall, and I would love to go. Hopefully sometime soon I will have a more predictable schedule!

  3. Diana says:

    Ah! I didn’t notice the option at the bottom to receive follow-up comments. I’ll make sure to do that with this response. 🙂

    Just let me know when you’re able to go! I’m really in the mood for something artsy these days! 🙂

Leave a Reply

