Employed.


Last week, in my Seven Recent Reads post, I mentioned a few DC-area museums I would not be able to visit because they are only open on weekdays during typical business hours. The reason why is the news I have been awaiting for a long time: I have been hired! Hired for an actual, full-time, permanent, more-than-living-wage, with-benefits (after a few months’ introductory period) job. I spent last summer in paralegal school, and I am now a paralegal.

This blog will still be a museum blog. After all, museumy things make for better photographs than paralegaly things.

Museums are still a big part of my life; they are just not the part that will pay the bills. With the free time that I don’t have to spend writing cover letters, I can come home from work and read about museums. On weekends, I can be a museum visitor, just for fun. By saving up money and vacation days, I’ll eventually even be able to visit museums that aren’t in DC, Maryland, or Virginia!

The other thing I finally get to do now is focus more fully on making the world a better place. “You can’t worry about how hard it is for the rest of the world,” my parents would say. “You need to get a job for yourself first.” Well, now I am allowed to worry about the rest of the world!  I’m in a position where I can pay for food and rent without borrowing money from my parents. Now I want to, in some way, help make it possible for more people to pay for their food and rent.

At my Sunday Morning Activity today, the guest speaker, Rabbi Jessica Kirschner, spoke about the legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr. “Segregated lunch counters are literally museum pieces,” she said, discussing the victories that the civil rights movement effected. She also reminded us of how much social justice work there is still to be done.

In the meantime, here is a photo of one of those museum pieces:

Part of the Greensboro Lunch Counter, National Museum of American History

Part of the Greensboro Lunch Counter, National Museum of American History

About Laura

Paralegal with Master of Arts in Teaching in Museum Education, frequent museum visitor, based in Washington, DC. I care about what museums can do, both in terms of public offerings and internal practices, to make the world a better place. I blog about museum education ("informed"), the social work of museums ("humane"), and visitor experience ("citizenry").
This entry was posted in Museums and Holidays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Employed.

  1. robertlfs says:

    Congratulations on the employment – especially at more than living wage!

Leave a Reply

